Carolinas-Virginias

The SCCM Carolinas/Virginias Chapter is a multiprofessional organization comprised of critical care practitioners in four states -- North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia -- whose purpose is to foster collaboration among caregivers at a regional level for the enhancement of patient care. Members of the chapter include physicians and physicians-in-training, nurses, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, dietitians, veterinarians, physician assistants, prehospital personnel, and industry representatives. Our mission statement is as follows:  "To serve the needs and represent the interests of critical care practitioners;  to provide opportunities for involvement in local and regional activities;  and to ensure the delivery of the highest quality of care to our communities."
 
The Carolinas/Virginias Chapter promotes educational opportunities throughout the year, the highlight of which is the Annual Scientific Symposium. The Board members are proud of the ability of the chapter to provide scholarships for deserving members to help defray the cost of attending the symposium. Chapter members receive a newsletter, listing our activities and including abstracts and other educational materials provided by our members.
 
 

 Chapter Officers

 
As one of the largest SCCM chapters, the Carolinas/Virginias Chapter is dynamic and continuously evolving.  Many chapter projects are ongoing, with the goals of increasing membership participation and enhancing the value of chapter membership. If you would like to become involved in one of the many chapter activities, please contact:
 
President
Christina Szabo, PhD, RN, CCRN, CNRN
Chris.szabo@vcuhealth.org

Vice President
Kwame Akuamoah-Boateng, ACNP-BC, MSN, BSN, RN
kakuamoah-boateng@mcvh-vcu.edu

Secretary
Christopher Todd Borchers, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC
ctborche@vcu.edu

Treasurer

Cindy Zerfoss, RN, MSN, Med, APRN-BC
cindyzerfoss@gmail.com

Past-President

John J. Whitcomb, PhD, RN, CCRN, FCCM
JWHITCO@clemson.edu

Board Members

Raymond Oleyourryk, RRT
rayovax1@gmail.com
J
ohn Hammer, PharmD, MBA, BCPS
jmhammer17@gmail.com

Gregory Schaefer, DO
gschaefer@hsc.wvu.edu

Karen Petros, PharmD
petrosk@wvuhealthcare.com

Carrie Griffiths, PharmD
clgriffiths@wingate.edu

Lisa Zimmerman, PharmD
lisahallzimmerman@gmail.com
 
Cheryl Porter, MS, ACNP
cporter@mcvh-vcu.edu

Rita Anne Brintzenhoff Brown, MD
rita.brintzenhoff@carolinas.org

Lisa M. Kurczewski, PharmD, BCPS
lisa.kurczewski@vcuhealth.org

Ellen M. Harvey, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, CCRN
moandaba@aol.com

Kristie Ann Hertel, RN, MSN, CCRN, ACNP-BC
kristieccrn@aol.com
 

 eCommunity News

 
Latest eCommunity News